Comply with CMMC

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is, from here on out, going to progressively become the de facto standard by which contractors must abide by in order to be recognized by the DoD for reliable, secure responsibility with any CUI on DIB networks and servers. In fewer words, if you’re going to handle data integral to national security, you have to prove you’re capable of handling it properly. If you’re planning to comply with the CMMC, marking off each box on the checklist before the audit comes gives you a considerable head start.

Considering Domain Technology Group’s considerable experience handling past NIST frameworks, which were responsible for the previous standards for CUI handling, we’re the best fit for making sure your company is ready for the big interview. Historically, contractors were able to perform self-assessments to measure whether or not they could bid on government contracts with the DoD. However, since the government is keeping a closer eye on its sensitive projects now, you need to make sure you’ve got everything in order to pass a seriously stricter audit coming your way.

Comply with CMMC

Getting Compliance Right the First Time

NIST began rolling CMMC out in September, but for now it’s only required for a select number of DoD-identified contractors. However, continuing on into the coming months and years, eventually every contractor will be required to have a CMMC if they want to land those big government contracts. What’s important to note is how much more difficult passing a CMMC audit is in comparison to NIST 800-171, the previous standard for government contractors.

The CMMC has five separate levels of compliance, of which NIST 800-171 compliance would only cover up to Level 3. While you may feel your company’s cybersecurity is more than up to par, chances are you’ll need to improve your measures, parameters, and processes to ensure you’re up to code. A few steps you can take to meet CMMC standards include:

  • Perform an extensive assessment of your cybersecurity readiness
  • Develop a remediation plan to address vulnerabilities, gaps, and weaknesses in your network
  • Institute on-going systems monitoring practices
  • Build and update your system security plan

Your checklist of CMMC requirements that will be assessed during your audit include 17 distinct categories, including three new determinants not previously required under NIST 800-171 standards. While there aren’t any definitive strictures detailing exactly what needs to change about your cybersecurity to be compliant, Domain Technology Group has the experience and expertise to walk you through the process.

Using the Next Best Thing

There is no official rulebook to pass the CMMC audit right now, but, at its fundamental scale, all you need to do is build sufficiently secure cybersecurity cybersecurity parameters to protect your network against any threats. The NIST SP 800-53 Revision 5 introduces a comprehensive catalogue of everything your company needs to achieve full comprehensive security in any sector. It introduces significant additions since its last edition that encompasses the broadest approach to IT cybersecurity currently available.

Implementing the necessary changes, even with the assistance of the SP 800-53, will still be a challenge. Domain Technology Group possesses the full array of knowledge, resources, and skill needed to ensure you’ll comply with CMMC on your first audit. If you’re interested in a partnership, visit our contact page so we can get started.